Awards for young dental writers

Awards for young dental writers

31 Jan 2011

The presentation of the British Dental Editors Forum (BDEF)/British Dental Trade Association (BDTA) Young Dental Writer of the Year Awards 2009/2010 took place at a reception held at the British Dental Association on the evening of Wednesday September 15.

First prize was awarded to Dr Sarah Gatley from Cardiff, for the paper Requirements, in terms of root canal treatment, of undergraduates in the European Union: an audit of teaching practice, which was published in the British Dental Journal (Br Dent J 2009; 207: 165–170). Dr Gatley received a certificate and a cheque for £500.

The second prize of £250 was awarded to Dr Vishal Aggarwal for his paper, Unexplained toothache: an evidence-based approach to diagnosis and management, which was published in Primary Dental Care (Prim Dent Care 2010; 17: 29–32). The reception was sponsored by Henry Schein.

The Young Dental Writer of the Year awards were revived by the BDEF in 2009 after an offer of sponsorship from the BDTA.